Pin It
Monday 23rd July 2018,
Hope for Nigeria

Osinbajo charges Nigerian Army to respect human rights norms in operations

Osinbajo disowns ‘fake news’ on restructuring

The Acting President, Yemi Osinbajo, on Friday called on the armed forces and those in government to ensure that their activities conform with human rights norms and basic rules of decency observed across the world.

Osinbajo said history had taught him that the failure of the nation’s justice system to respond adequately to crisis was a major factor leading to greater conflict.


Image result for Nigerian Army


He made this remark while inaugurating a Presidential Investigation Panel to Review the Compliance of the Armed Forces with Human Rights Obligations and Rules of Engagement at the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

According to him, it is widely known that the conduct of the nation’s defence and security forces against insurgency in the North East and militancy in the Niger Delta had in recent times attracted significant commendation.

He recalled that at the inception of the present administration, seven local government areas were under the control of Boko Haram while virtually all of them have now been recovered by security forces.

He said, “Indeed, conventional human right norms and conventional human rights observers are challenged by some of the various nuances of asymmetric warfare.

“Nonetheless, there have been a series of allegations levied against security forces by some local and international commentators.

Osinbajo said for the Federal Government, respect for the lives of Nigerians was not just a constitutional but also a moral duty.

While urging members of the panel to discharge their duties diligently, impartially and with all sense of professionalism, the Acting President urged them to also collect information about the conditions of service of the armed forces or any other factors that might have hindered the optimal performance.

Members of the Panel are as follows:

1. Hon. Justice Biobele Geogrewill – Chairman
2. Maj. Gen. Patrick Akem – Member
3. Olawale Fapohunda – “
4. Mrs. Hauwa Ibrahim – “
5. Jibrin Ibrahim – “
6. Mr. Abba A. Ibrahim – “
7. Mrs Ifeoma Nwakama – “
8. Dr. Fatima Alkali – Counsel to the Panel
9. Mr. S. Halliru – Secretary (OSGF)

If you enjoyed this article FEEL Free to TIP Hope for Nigeria Online:

Any Amount Welcome 🙂


Dash: XmARRjJ9y2zUUgiPWPMrjviWWCvpuogwKd

Dogecoin: D5vAJ9ydfsNX1VE6e93Wh16gmUfVSUSKQq

Bitcoin: 1BJbBAvdNHcZPZBnaFpyExUmAD9H1crosU

Litecoin: LXfkhyMe8gxdENyUc7Y5itHzFqr67F96nW

Ethereum: 0x60454606e1f66C09e4fD7977b844718b683B2836


Sign Up to Get Regular News Articles & Updates
An Opportunity for Regular Information Straight to Your INBOX

Simply enter your full name and email address below

Like this Article? Share it!

Leave A Response